no dodo faded away today

up-high

Up high

Please give me a second glance
And the next dance

You have to know the weight of love  
To be a lover
You have to know the ways of love
To be a lover

naked-sky

The sky is naked 
As the leaves fly and fall
You have to know weights of love
To be a lover
Buds blossom like stars
As I find a shell on the doorstep
And think again it's you, only too shy, again
When feeling it in my pocket as I walk up the street
You have to know ways of love 
To be a lover

buds-blossom-like-stars

It's not about winning or losing
Unless a widow talks 
About her love gone without her
Leaving at 94 worries and questions
She is too old to want to live
As she sings Charles Trenet
And sips a glass of red wine.

I don't know who or what made my day
The unknown pearl-like flat shell
That made me think of home
Or the passionate elderly woman
That I was happy to shake hands with
After strings played
Tunes of pain without love,
Thank you in my hands. 

Please give me a second glance
And the next dance.